Right or Wrong?… it is up to you to decide

“One’s philosophy is not best expressed in words; it is expressed in the choices one makes… and the choices we make are ultimately our responsibility.”

Eleanor Roosevelt

untitled.pngEvery Tuesday and Thursday at 8am my lovely roommate, Lianna Riley, and I would take the short walk to Gary Fuller’s Philosophy 118L class. I have done many things in my life to start my mornings out right to ensure that my day is filled with more positivity, such as yoga, drinking tea, daily devotions, and much more. However, nothing gets my day started more than a riveting controversial debate at 8am with my LAS peers. I may sound sarcastic, but seriously, this class was a catch. Not only did I learn about my own opinions and stances on such topics, but I learned a great deal about my peers and their stances as well.
Philosophy at 8am may sound like a nightmare, and while it may have been just that on some days, Gary Fuller always knew exactly how to get the class stimulated and participating. We discussed pressing controversial issues such as euthanasia, affirmative action, abortion, gay marriage, the legalization of marijuana, and the death penalty, all while remaining mostly civil and open-minded. A large topic in this class was whether certain topics were justifiably morally right or morally wrong. We wright-and-wrong.jpgould spend class periods analyzing such issues and debating over the morale and values of the issue, and why we did or did not agree with specific topics.
Overall, this class was honestly one of my favorite LAS classes because it made me think, defend, and reason with my peers about issues that meant a lot to most of us. While Gary Fuller had his unique quirks and long stories, he always kept us entertained and on our feet. If you or anyone you knows is interested in philosophy, I definitely recommend this class.

Leave a Reply

